November TLE Tip of the Month

Erica Peron Teaching and Learning Exchange

Merging Duplicate Student Accounts in the TLE

When there are two student profiles for the same student in the TLE, and each student account has been enrolled in classes, the student accounts need to be merged into one student profile for the report card to reflect and print accurately and for parents to be able to access student information via the Parent Portal.

Administrator will identify which student profiles need to be merged and into which class(es) the new student profile needs to be added and old student profile deleted. 
[Administrators needs to go to the ‘Students Tab’, review the list for duplicate profiles, locate the duplicate profiles and click ‘Student Info’ on each profile to see which account needs to be moved and merged. If both accounts are enrolled in classes, select the account with the fewest classes or the FTC account and follow the instructions below.]
Teachers can follow these steps to merge profiles without losing grades:
  1. Go to ‘Classes Tab’, select the class the new student profile needs to be added to, click View/Edit.
  2. On Class Details page, go to ‘ Add Students’, select the grade level the student is in and click SEARCH. Select the new student profile to be enrolled and click the checkbox next to the name and click SAVE.
  3. On Class Details page to ‘Gradebook’. In ‘Gradebook’ you will see both student profiles, and you will need to transfer the current grades to the newly enrolled profile and delete the grades from the existing profile.  Enter the grade under the correct assignments to the new profile, delete the assignment grades from existing profile and click SAVE.  Once you have completed this step, go back to ‘Class Details’ page, find the ‘old’ student profile under ‘Enrolled Students’ [if you click student info, you can confirm it is the old profile], click ‘Edit’, click ‘uncheck to remove from class’ and click SAVE.
  4. If the existing profile doesn’t have grades in Gradebook, go back to ‘Class Details’ page, find the ‘old’ student profile under ‘Enrolled Students’ [if you click student info, you can confirm it is the old profile], click ‘Edit’, click ‘uncheck to remove from class’ and click SAVE.
The teacher’s task is done… from there the Administrator will:

Go to ‘Students Tab’ and locate the student profile not enrolled in classes, click “Edit Student Info’, if the student info page has a checked box next to the words ‘Is Active’, uncheck the box and click SAVE.  If this box doesn’t exist, the profile cannot be deactivated, but you can designate the student as a ‘DO NOT USE’ by entering the ‘Do not use’ phrase in front of the Last Name in the ‘Last Name Field’ within the student information page.

Please call Nina Gregory if you still need assistance with this process: 727-300-0359